modify width and height

Post Reply
matteolucarelli
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:32 pm

modify width and height

Post by matteolucarelli »

hi,
with Scarlet and libvisiontransfer not all the parameters are available in DeviceParameters.
For example the main format settings (width, height, binning) are not included.
How these can be read and modified?
k.schauwecker
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:12 pm

Re: modify width and height

Post by k.schauwecker »

Some parameters, as the image size, cannot be configured at runtime. A lot of functionality, such as the image rectification, depend on the image size. This is why that parameter cannot be changed on the fly.

We are currently working on a firmware update that will significantly expand the parameters available in the parameter API, including the image size. However, a change of the image size will need to perform a software re-initialization that will lead to an interruption in the range of tens of seconds. A release date for this update is not yet available.

In the mean time, you can use the upload configuration page to upload different configurations as a work around. Uploading different configurations can be scripted with e.g. curl. Below is a script that we have previously used for this task:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

host=192.168.10.10

if [ $# -eq 2 ]; then
        host=$1
        shift
fi

if [ $# -ne 1 ]; then
        echo "Usage: $0 [SCENESCAN-IP] CONF-FILE"
        exit 1
fi

echo "Uploading..."

result=`curl -s -m5 -F "keep_network=1" -F "settings_file=@$1" http://$host/maintenance/ | egrep "(Configuration uploaded)|(Invalid configuration)" | wc -l`

if [ $result -eq 1 ]; then
        echo "Success!"
        exit 0
else
        echo "Upload failed!"
        exit 1
fi
matteolucarelli
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:32 pm

Re: modify width and height

Post by matteolucarelli »

I understand the technical point but, in some application, like unsupervised remote system, is often required to apply a complete setup, to be sure that everything is unchanged, for example on start after some failure, or after having replaced some parts.

By this point of view all parameters should be part of a single procedure (like the one on your examples) including the fundamental image size and binning.
k.schauwecker
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:12 pm

Re: modify width and height

Post by k.schauwecker »

Yes, this functionality will come with an already planned firmware update, but I can't promise the release date yet.
Post Reply